Approaching Oz

We have repaired the sail and are starting to make good progress but it has been frustrating. We are chasing the race but our skipper Mark has one or two tricks up his sleeve and I think we will gain a few places as we get closer to Geraldton. We should be on dry land in about a week and I`m looking forward to having a floor that doesn`t  move underfoot.

The weather has improved although we are still wearing multiple layers of clothing.

We are doing the best we can with the food and I am looking forward to a decent meal.

It has also been tough mentally and there have been times when I`ve asked myself why I was doing this. It was usually when I was very wet, cold, tired, hungry and squinting into the wind on the lookout for `bergs. Some of the guys doing the whole round the world trip have asked themselves the same question and they have a few thousand more miles after this leg.

When we are not busy sorting sail, steering the boat, being “Mother”, cleaning the head etc it can be quite boring. Other times it is pleasant to be looking at the ocean wildlife as it flies and floats by. I haven`t seen a plane or other vessel for weeks and you do realise how big and empty some parts of the world really are.

My Justgiving page is http://www.justgiving.com/Jim-Clarke and all donations large or small will be gratefully received.

About jimclipperclarke

I am trying to raise money for Stockport MIND, the local branch of MIND which is a United Kingdom charity that supports people with mental illness and promotes better understanding of mental ill-health. It is a charity close to my heart. I am personally paying the full cost of sailing over 25 days from South Africa to Australia in October. I am a novice sailor and crewing on a 68 foot clipper will be the challenge of a lifetime. I want to use this challenge to raise money for Stockport MIND. All funds raised will go to Stockport MIND.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.